Íñigo Losada, awarded by the International Association for Research in Environmental Hydraulics

by | 4 Jul, 2022 | General News, Awards | 0 comments

This is one of the world’s leading awards in this field of knowledge

Íñigo J. Losada Rodríguez, Professor of Hydraulic Engineering at the University of Cantabria (UC) and Director of Research at the UC Institute of Environmental Hydraulics (IHCantabria), received the M. Selim Yalin Award for his professional career from the International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research (IAHR) on 20 June.

The ceremony occurred during the opening ceremony of the 39th World Congress of Hydraulic Engineering, held in Granada between 20 and 24 June, and attended by around 1200 participants, including a significant representation of research staff from IHCantabria.

Professor Losada received the award for “his significant and lasting contributions to understanding the physics of phenomena and processes in hydraulic science and engineering, which have had a broad international impact on applied engineering and public policy making”.

The award, named after Professor M. Selim Yalin, a pioneer in river hydraulics and sediment transport research, is one of the prominent awards in this field of knowledge and is the first time it has been given to a researcher for their professional career in hydraulic and marine engineering.

Specifically, it has been awarded biennially since 2007 to recognise experimental, theoretical or numerical research work that has led to significant contributions in science or hydraulic engineering and has demonstrated extraordinary skills in training researchers and specialists. It has been awarded to two American, two Japanese, one New Zealander and three European experts, one of whom is Professor Losada.

The IAHR, founded in 1935, is an independent worldwide organisation of engineers and water specialists working in areas related to the hydro-environmental sciences and their practical application. It has more than 4000 individual members and 250 institutions.